Authorities in auto industry design and communications are among the newest members elected to The Harold E. LeMay Museum. Recently joining the board of the Tacoma-based organization are Thomas Kowaleski, Charles Liekweg, Phil Martens, Jason Vines and Ed Welburn.

The LeMay Museum features the LeMay Collection of American cars and memorabilia. Board members will help guide development of a new museum in Tacoma.

A brief introduction of the new board members:

Thomas Kowaleski is vice president, Global Communications, for General Motors. He is a member of the GM Automotive Strategy Board and directs GM’s corporate, product and brand, external and internal communications around the world.

Charles Liekweg has been president and CEO of AAA Washington/Inland for the past eight years and serves on the organization’s Board of Trustees. His management background includes positions with GTE, IBM, AT&T and Cohesive Networks.

Phil Martens is group vice president, Product Creation, for Ford Motor Company. Martens oversees the design, engineering and development of all Ford, Lincoln and Mercury cars and light trucks sold in North America.

Jason Vines is vice president, Communications, for the Chrysler Group. His background includes communications and public relations duties with Ford and Nissan North America. Vines also was a partner and managing director for Strat@comm, a public relations firm in Detroit.

Ed Welburn is vice president, Global Design, for General Motors. His GM career began in 1972 as an associate designer in the Advanced Design Studios. Welburn has led design teams for Saturn, overseas design, auto show concept cars and hydrogen fuel cell concepts.

The Harold E. LeMay Museum is a 501 (c)(3) not-for-profit corporation established in 1998 in Tacoma, Washington to build a permanent home for the world’s largest private collection of vintage automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, commercial vehicles and automobile memorabilia.

Comments are closed.