Jim Guthrie/Soon Nguyen
JMPR, Inc. 818/992-4353


Meguiars Inc. President/CEO Barry Meguiar and Galpin Motors Beau Boeckmann to Receive Museum Accolades for their Careers in the Collector Car IndustryMay 12, 2005

LOS ANGELES, CA (April 14, 2005) The Petersen Automotive Museum announced the recipients of its first Cars & Stars Gala awards, which will be presented at the Museums annual event on Thursday evening, May 12, 2005. President/CEO Barry Meguiar, third generation owner of Meguiars Inc, will receive the first annual Petersen Automotive Museum Automotive Icon Award for his contributions to the automotive industry and the collector car hobby. Beau Boeckmann of Galpin Motors will receive the first Petersen Visionary Award.

Automotive Icon Award Barry Meguiar, Meguiars Inc.

The Petersen Automotive Icon award was established to recognize distinguished careers in the automotive industry and Barry Meguiar has been selected as the first honoree. From traveling the globe to promote Meguiars products to car manufacturers and enthusiasts to sponsoring more than 5,000 car show events, Meguiar is a regular on the collector car circuit. Meguiar hosts his own top-rated television show Car Crazy on SPEED Channel and co-hosts the nationally-syndicated Car Crazy radio show. Meguiar has pioneered new arenas for all automotive enthusiasts including the creation of the Meguiars Award, which for the past 10 years has honored the Collector Car Person of the Year and gives recognition to the people behind the cars.

Barry Meguiar is the embodiment of an automotive enthusiast, said Museum Director Dick Messer. Throughout his career, he has helped countless people start their careers in the industry and is one of the strongest supporters of the collector car hobby. This passion for the automotive culture encapsulates the Petersen Automotive Museum Automotive Icon Award. The beautiful award was designed by the famed Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, CA.

Visionary Award Beau Boeckmann, Galpin Motors

The Petersen Visionary Award honors the pioneers of the automotive industry. Beau Boeckmann, the automotive customizing designer/dealer who runs Galpin Motors, the worlds largest volume Ford dealership for the past 15 years, will receive the first award. Boeckmann is being honored for his role in helping to recreate the way dealers sell cars and for his cutting-edge customizing and re-design of manufacturers vehicles into unique vehicles limited only by his imagination, that help his customers realize their automotive dreams.

The Petersen Automotive Museum, a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) organization, is a pioneer in automotive education and one of the nations largest and preeminent automotive museums. The Gala will be hosted by noted car collectors and Gala Co-chairs Bruce and Raylene Meyer. Reserved tables and individual tickets for the 2005 Cars & Stars Gala are available in advance starting at $250-$500 per person. For additional information on the Gala and auctions, please call the Gala hotline at (323) 964-6366 or log-on to the Museum website at The Petersen Automotive Museum is located at 6060 Wilshire Boulevard (at Fairfax) in Los Angeles.

# # #

Comments are closed.