PICKERINGTON, OHIO- The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum inducted nine new members into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame during an evening ceremony on October 7, 2006. The new Motorcycle Hall of Fame members are Doug Chandler, Alfred Rich Child, Wally Dallenbach, Sr., Denis Manning, Heikki Mikkola, Burt Munro, Cook Neilson, Roger “Sodie” Soderstrom, and Melbourne J. “Mike” Wilson.

“The Motorcycle Hall of Fame honors those individuals whose passion and accomplishments have taken our sport and our industry to a higher level,” Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum Executive Director Mark Mederski said during the induction ceremony’s opening remarks. Famed Harley-Davidson tuner Bill Werner served as master of ceremonies for the evening. He presented each inductee, or the representatives of those who could not be present, with a distinguished gold Hall of Fame medal.

After accepting his medal Doug Chandler commented, “All my life racing bikes, I never dwelled on what I’ve done in the past. I always look forward. Just having my name on the wall among those others… it really feels good, and it’s a great honor.” Chandler is one of only four riders to ever accomplish what is known as the “Grand Slam”, winning races in five different disciplines: the half-mile, mile, TT, short-track and road racing.

Over four hundred people gathered at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, for the induction ceremony. With families, industry peers, friends, past Motorcycle Hall of Fame inductees and media present for the event, it was an emotional celebration. Noted Cook Neilson, former Cycle magazine editor and top AMA Superbike rider in the 1970s, “This room holds everyone I love, and everyone who loves me.”

The induction ceremony was preceded by the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum’s Fifth Annual Concours d’Elegance. The event featured over 100 of the country’s finest motorcycles. The Jim Davis Best of Show award at the 2006 Concours d’Elegance was given to Bobby Sullivan’s 1966 Triumph Thunderbird. In conjunction with Concours d’Elegance inductee Denis Manning displayed his BUB Enterprises streamliner. The streamliner was ridden by Chris Carr to a new FIM motorcycle land speed record of 350.884 in September 2006. Throughout Hall of Fame weekend Manning and Carr captivated fans with details of the record run.

Next year the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum’s annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony and Concours d’Elegance will take place on October 5 and 6, 2007.

About the Motorcycle Hall of Fame—
Each year, the Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering. Any motorcycling enthusiast may submit a person to be considered for induction into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame. For details on the nomination process, visit www.motorcyclemuseum.org.

About the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum—
The goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. Located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, the Motorcycle Hall of Fame honors those who have contributed notably to the sport, and three major exhibition halls showcase the machines and memorabilia that have shaped motorcycling. The Museum is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily; and is closed on New Year’s, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Adult admission is $10 per person; students 12 – 17, $3. AMA members $5. Seniors receive a $2 discount and members of motorcycle clubs and organizations are eligible for a $1 discount per ticket. A $25.00 family rate and group rates are also available. For more information, call (614) 856-2222, or visit the Museum’s website at www.motorcyclemuseum.org.

Comments are closed.