Best in Show, 1927 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A Roadster
Troy, MI, August 6, 2008 – It was a spectacular day on August 3 in Rochester, Michigan when the 30th Annual Meadow Brook Concours drew record crowds to the sun-drenched grounds of Meadow Brook Hall. Over 230 of the most stunning cars in the world were exhibited to the delight of enthusiasts who began pouring through the gate well before the event’s official opening.

Judging from comments heard throughout the Concours field and from around the 360-degree display of remarkable vehicles, everyone was delighted to be a part of the experience.

No wonder. The show field included the famous Mormon Meteor and Clark Gable’s Duesenberg. On display was a zealously photographed Lamborghini Reventon – the first to arrive in the U.S. – with a jaw-dropping Bugatti Veyron parked nearby. Add to the stellar lineup the North American debut of B.A.T. 11, the one and only Helicron, a crowd-pleasing Taylor Aerocar that transformed from plane to car before some lucky spectators’ eyes and you have a Concours that will be hard to top – anywhere!

“What a celebration this has been,” says Meadow Brook Concours d’Elegance event chairman, Larry Smith. We anticipated our best event ever and we are so pleased that it far exceeded our expectations. What a day and what a crowd of automobile enthusiasts of all ages enjoying such fine examples of the art that moves us.”

For many spectators, the highlight of the day was the awarding of the 2008 trophies. Grand award winners were:

§ Founders Trophy – Best in Show – American: 1935 Duesenberg J Roadster, owned by Sam and Emily Mann

§ Founders Trophy – Best in Show – European: 1927 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A Roadster, owned by Joseph and Margie Cassini, III

§ Meadow Brook Hall Memorial Trophy: 1935 Duesenberg SJ special ‘Mormon

Meteor’, owned by Harry Yeaggy

§ Designer’s Choice Award: 1933 Chrysler CL, owned by Ed and Pam Rittenhouse

§ People’s Choice Award: 1935 Duesenberg SJ special ‘Mormon Meteor’, owned by Harry Yeaggy

§ Best of Show Motorcycle Trophy: 1940 Indian 4 Cylinder, owned by Berland Sullivan

Additional winner information will be posted soon at

Comments are closed.