After being short-listed for the inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards as “Motoring Event of the Year”, Motorclassica has now gone one step further to receive top gong at the Australian event industry’s most prestigious awards, the EEAA Awards for Excellence, as “Best New Show”.

Event Director, Paul Mathers stated “This is a real coup of both Motorclassica and its owners, Exhibitions & Trade Fairs, and is fabulous recognition not only of our commitment to the classic motoring community, but of our commitment to innovation and excellence in production of special events”.

Mathers wasted no time in using this year’s success to announcing some of the feature lineups for the 2012 RACV Motorclassica, due to take place once again at the iconic Royal Exhibition Building, Melbourne from 26 – 28 October.

100 years almost to the day, the Royal Exhibition Building hosted the very first Victorian Motor Exhibition.  Amongst the inaugural displays in this “celebration of progress” was an 1899 Thompson steam car, showcased as part of the Vacuum Oil stand, which will return in 2012 as part of Motorclassica’s celebration of 100 years of the Motor Show, in conjunction with Museum Victoria.  Coincidentally, the sponsor of the first Motor Exhibition was none other than the Motoring Club of Victoria, the predecessor of Motorclassica’s current major sponsor, RACV.

In 2012, RACV Motorclassica will also celebrate the career of Australia’s greatest motoring hero, Sir Jack Brabham, with a display of a dozen ex-Brabham race cars, championship trophies and memorabilia.  As a special treat, negotiations are currently underway with some of Brabham’s most fierce rivals, who will make their way downunder to speak of some of the most epic motorsports battles of the 1950s and 60s.

Entries are now being sought from around Australia and the world, for the 2012 Australian International Concours d’Elegance at RACV Motorclassica.  Exceptional cars are encouraged to compete for a range of awards including the coveted Best in Show trophy.

For further information, email [email protected] or visit

Comments are closed.