*MONTEREY, Calif.* (Aug. 23, 2006)—In a special ceremony held at the conclusion of the 33^rd Rolex Monterey Historic Automobile Races, Steven J. Earle, president of General Racing Ltd. and the event’s founder, was joined by special guest presenters; Sir Jack Brabham, three time world champion and Doug Meine, Executive Vice President, Rolex USA, to bestow the following Historic awards in recognition of the achievements of select race participants.

Award winners were as follows:

_*The Monterey Cup*_ – Honoring best overall performance and presentation
Rodney Smith, Portola Valley, Calif., 1960 Cooper T-53 F-1
Driver: Mark Gillies

_*The Rolex Awards*_ –* * Honoring performance and presentation in the spirit of the event
Group 1A – Pre- 1940 Sports, Touring & Racing Cars
Nathanael Greene, Peterborough, N.H., 1925 Bugatti T-35

Group 2A – 1947-1955 Sport Racing and Production Cars Under 2000cc
Dean Meiling, Incline Village, Nev., 1954 Maserati A6GCS

Group 3A – 1951-1963 Formula Jr. & Fill Cars
Reg Howell, Corona Del Mar, Calif.,1963 Brabham BT-6 F-Jr.

Group 4A – 1955-1960 Sports Racing Cars Over 2500cc
Carl Moore, Alamo, Calif., 1960 Maserati T-61

Group 5A – 1955-1965 Formula F-1 & F-2 Cars
Paul Grant, Brussels, Belgium, 1953 Cooper Bristol T-23 F2

Group 6A – 1966-1972 Historic Trans-Am Cars
Brian Ferrin, Burbank, Calif., 1970 Boss 302 Mustang

Group 7A – 1966-1977 Historic F-1 Cars
Phil Mauger, Christchurch, New Zealand, 1973 McLaren M-23
_*The Rolex Awards (continued)*_

Group 1B – 1947-1955 Sports Racing & Prod. Cars over 2000cc
Greg Johnson, Irvine, Calif., 1955 Austin-Healey 100S

Group 2B – 1956-1960 Sports Racing Cars under 2500cc
Ollie Crosthwaite, Buxted, England, 1956 Cooper Bobtail

Group 3B – 195901965 Sports Racing Cars
Mike Blackie, Prescott, Ariz., 1964 Genie Mk10

Group 4B – 1955-1962 Production Sports Cars
William Connor, Incline Village, Nev., 1961 Ferrari 250 SWB

Group 5B – 1963-1966 Production Sports Cars
Kaid Marouf, La Jolla, Calif., 1965 Alfa-Romeo TZII

Group 6B – 1965-1972 FIA Mfg. Championship Cars
Roy Walzer, Litchfield, Conn., 1970 Chevron B-16

Group 7B – 1970-1980 Historic IMSA GT Cars
Bruce Canepa, Scotts Valley, Calif., 1979Porsche 935

_*The Ken Miles Trophy*_* * – Honoring an early car/driver that best represents the spirit of vintage racing
Pete Lovely, Tacoma, Wash., 1959 Lotus 11

_*The Monterey Historic Award for Excellence*_* * – Honoring presentation and performance of a Pre-war and Post-war vehicle
(Pre-war): Pat Phinney, Carmel, Calif., 1933 Rigling & Henning Spl
(Post-war): Steve Schuler, Capistrano Beach, Calif., 1950 Allard J2

_*The Ford Motor Company Tom Senter Memorial Trophy*_ – Best Ford powered entry
Pete Brock, El Segundo, Calif., 1964 Lang Cooper
Driver: John Morton

_*The*__*/ Road & Track/ Award*_ – Honoring the car/ Road & Track/ editors would most like to race
Steve Froines, Dublin, Calif., 1959 Cooper T-51 F-1

Organized by General Racing, Ltd., the/ Rolex Monterey Historic Automobile Races Presented by Toyota/ is an “automotive museum brought to life,” and the largest event, with over 40,000 visitors, of the renowned classic car weekend in Monterey, California. With a broad appeal, it attracts a diverse group of visitors and participants—including children, families, collectors, sports enthusiasts and automotive history buffs.

For additional information on the Rolex Monterey Historic, please visit _http://www.montereyhistoric.com_.

Comments are closed.