With near-perfect weather, the 36th Annual Concours d’Elegance of America at the Inn at St. John’s in Plymouth welcomed continuous crowds all day on Sunday, July 27. This was the fourth year of the concours. More than 250 vehicles were on display for the public under blue skies. The Concours brought great diversity to the show field this year, featuring Jet-Age pickups, vintage drag bikes, and the work of designer Virgil Exner along with the American and European Classics.

The final highlight of Concours events is the awarding of the best-in-show award, and it is a special tradition of the Concours d’Elegance of America to present two such awards: one to the best domestic vehicle and one to the best foreign vehicle.

The Best in Show – American went to a 1932 Duesenberg Model J Convertible Victoria by Murphy owned by William and Barbara Parfet of Hickory Corners, Michigan. Best in Show – Foreign went to a 1939 Bugatti T57C Cabriolet from the Patterson Collection of Louisville, Kentucky.

At the grand finale, both top winning cars drove towards each other, headlight to headlight, to “take their award winning bow.” The crowd applauded and gathered as close as they could to the winning automobiles.

The final concours day on Sunday caps off a week of auto-related activities including a screening of the Formula One biopic “Rush,” informative seminars free to the public, automotive art exhibitions, classic car motor tours, a black-tie Saturday night celebration, the RM classic car auction, and more.

The Concours d’Elegance of America presented dozens of awards over the weekend including best of class. Below is a short selection of some of the special awards:

Best Driving Award – Car We Would Like to Drive Home – 1955 Alfa Romeo 1900 SS owned by Stephen & Kim Bruno of Boca Raton, Florida.

Chairman’s Award – 1929 Duesenberg Model J owned by Tony & Jonna Ficco of Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Most Elegant Car – 1933 Cadillac 425C owned by Steve Brauer of St. Louis, Missouri.

The People’s Choice Award – 1919 Paige 666 Daytona owned by Ed & Judy Shoenthaler of Oak Brooke, Illinois.

Timeless Beauty Award – 1940 Packard Sport Sedan by Darrin owned by Mike and Joy Ames of Arlington, Texas.

Designer’s Choice Award – David R. Holls Memorial – 1936 Delahaye Type 135 Competition Court owned by Roger Willbanks of Denver, Colorado.

The full list can be accessed here.


Comments are closed.